Search

Shu Ren 10/13/20 Meeting Summary



October 15, 2020



Dear MIP families,


Thank you so much to those who attended last night’s general meeting to discuss the potential changes to the MIP. We want to thank Southeast Guiding Coalition members Min Cai (MIP parent) and Jackson Weinberg (CHS junior in the MIP) for sharing what they have learned so far in this process.


We apologize to those who were unable to join due to Google Meet capacity. (We’re looking into this to avoid this problem in future meetings; we had thought that Shu Ren’s G Suite for Nonprofits could accommodate up to 250 attendees on Google Meet.)


Here is a link to the recorded meeting:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vjItaWvh9y6LeW9FkvTer83GIwHM0Iet/view?usp=sharing


and the Google Meet Chat transcript:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1UZZYZ6VcOSdJOy5GoX1fBo22U3TwTFtiTcu12qz0O-Q/edit?usp=sharing


Next steps

Your Shu Ren Board of Directors is working on a letter to send to Enrollment and Program Balancing contacts, the Southeast Guiding Coalition, PPS Board of Education, and others involved in decisions regarding the proposed changes to the MIP. We will share it with MIP families after it has been sent.


What can you do?

As we saw last night, MIP parents stand together in opposing these changes to the program. Here is what you can do to stay informed and make your voice heard:


  • Watch the Southeast Guiding Coalition’s workshop meetings (currently scheduled for Thursday, Oct. 15, 22, 29*; Nov. 5, 12, 19; Dec 3*, 10, 17.

*virtual open house for latest proposal, with opportunity for public comments

  • Read the information posted on PPS’s Enrollment and Program Balancing page: https://www.pps.net/Page/13615

  • Take PPS’s Enrollment and Program Balancing survey.

English: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSebj0LpE00GuykIOffc3iwuF_ZMWrZw9tOW9tebEIbhE1-jFw/viewform


Chinese: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSf2cVxe8aYKTOJmKN5RgKeDmqj3LKj_FmDYK8fT5uV9gKKTNw/viewform

  • Take Shu Ren’s MIP parent survey. (Your responses will help Shu Ren form its letter and communications with the Southeast Guiding Coalition.)

English and Chinese: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdVi_mFwZFymL7j-IZ1o1QI-EMq411m81bcuwNwg7FZzPPpOw/viewform

  • Write letters to the Enrollment and Program Balancing project’s contacts:

Claire Hertz, Deputy Superintendent, Business & Operations, chertz@pps.net

Esther Omogbehin, Regional Superintendent, eomogbehin@pps.net

Megan Salvador, Project Manager, balancingenrollment@pps.net

  • cc PPS Board of Education, schoolboard@pps.net



  • Optional: cc Woodstock, Hosford, and Cleveland principals, PPS’s Department of Dual Language, PPS’s Enrollment and Transfer Center, Superintendent Guadalupe Guererro, and/or FLO Analytics.

Seth Johnson, Woodstock principal, sjohnson5@pps.net

Caitlin Klenz, Hosford principal, cklenz@pps.net

Jo Ann Wadkins, CHS principal, jwadkins@pps.net


Department of Dual Language

Michael Bacon, Director, mbacon@pps.net


Enrollment and Transfer Center

Judy Brennan, Director, enrollment-office@pps.net


Superintendent

Guadalupe Guererro, superintendent@pps.net


FLO Analytics Tyler Vick, Managing Director, tvick@flo-analytics.com Jed Roberts, Senior Analyst, jroberts@flo-analytics.com



Thank you all for your passionate involvement in the MIP. We will be back in touch soon with our letter and updates.


As always, please reach out if you have any questions or if you would like to help the Shu Ren Board in any way.


In solidarity and with gratitude,


Shu Ren of Portland Board of Directors

theboard@shurenofportland.org




10 views

©2019 by Shu Ren of Portland.

Shu Ren of Portland recognizes the diversity and worth of all individuals and groups and their roles in society. It is the policy of the Portland Public Schools Board of Education that there will be no discrimination or harassment of individuals or groups on the grounds of age, color, creed, disability, marital status, national origin, race, religion, sex or sexual orientation in any educational programs, activities or employment.